Composition of the Authority

The Warehousing Development and Regulatory Authority (WDRA) was constituted on 26.10.2010 under the Warehousing (Development and Regulation) Act, 2007 vide Government of India Gazette Notification dated 26th October 2010. The Act provides for the establishment of the WDRA to exercise the powers conferred on it and to perform the functions assigned to it under the Act, Rules and Regulations for the development and regulation of warehouses, negotiability of warehouse receipts and promote orderly growth of the warehousing business in the country.

The WDRA is a Statutory Authority under the Department of Food and Public Distribution, Government of India. The Authority has its Headquarters in New Delhi. In subsequent phases, with the approval of the Central Government, the Authority can establish offices at other places.

The Authority consists of a Chairperson and two Members appointed by the Central Government. Present Composition of the Authority is as follows:

1. Shri GC Chaturvedi, IAS (Retd.), Chairman

An IAS officer of 1977 batch (UP Cadre), with Administrative experience of about 36 years. Superannuated on 31st January 2013 as Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas, Government of India.

2. Two posts of the Members are vacant since 25.8.2015 and 01.02.2016.